Seth Goldberg

Camp Director

Athletic Director & Head Coach at John Carroll School


Seth is completing his first year as athletic director and boys' head basketball coach at John Carroll School, after a high successful tenure as the head basketball coach at St. Paul’s School in Brooklandville, MD. At St. Paul's, Seth oversaw the improvement of a once struggling program. Some highlights included: winning 2 MIAA Tournament Championships, 4 Regular Season Conference Championships, and an undefeated conference record in 2009-‘10.

Seth’s Crusader teams also had two 20-win seasons (2009 and 2011) and earned a top-15 ranking in Baltimore 3 times (2009, 2011, and 2014). Seth’s career record at St. Paul’s was 141 wins and 81 losses. At John Carroll, Seth seeks to continue producing some of the most competitive teams in the area, while also helping many student-athletes achieve their dream of playing collegiate athletics.

During his time, 24 members of the St. Paul’s basketball program went on to play a sport at the next level, including 12 college basketball players.

Seth began his coaching career at Bishop O’Connell High School in the WCAC under Joe Wootten, son of Hall of Fame coach, Morgan Wootten. In five seasons at O’Connell, Seth helped the team earn two USA Today’s National Top-20 rankings and numerous league and
tournament championships. Seth also played a role in helping many O’Connell basketball players earn scholarships to play at schools like the University of North Carolina, University of Maryland, Loyola College, St. Joseph’s University, University of Louisville, and Lehigh University.

After O’Connell, Seth moved on to work with 2004 McDonald’s All-American Coach, Bob Flynn, at Cardinal Gibbons School and later at McDaniel College, where they were able to revitalize a struggling program, winning nine games for the first time in 10 years, and bringing excitement back to the Men’s Basketball Program at McDaniel College.

For the last 12 summers, Seth has worked as a commissioner at Coach Wootten’s Basketball Camp. Coach Wootten’s Camp is widely recognized as the best teaching, overnight basketball camp in the country.

IMG_1383 2_edited.jpg

Jeremy Mellady

Camp Commissioner 

Admissions Associate & Associate Head Coach, John Carroll School
Jeremy is an admissions associate & associate head basketball coach at John Carroll School. He has been right there with Coach Goldberg, as the top assistant on the varsity staff for 12 years at St. Paul's School & starting their 13th together at John Carroll. As Associate Head Coach, he has a number of responsibilities, most notably, heading up player development and academic support. His understanding of the game and ability to motivate players is special. At St. Paul's, he co-directed the St. Paul’s Summer League and the Crusader Shootout (now Patriot Shootout), two of the most well organized events in the Baltimore area. He is also the former head scout for the DMV Recruiting Guide where he helped high school players achieve their goal of playing basketball in college. Jeremy is currently an event director for Prep Hoops Maryland (MD). This will be Jeremy's 14th straight summer working Coach Goldberg's basketball camp.


Jordan Smith
Camp Commissioner 

Assistant Varsity Coach, John Carroll School
Jordan is from Colonia, New Jersey. He attended Bishop Ahr High School where he was a member of the football and basketball team. He went on to attend Ithaca College in upstate New York where he continued his football career. He began coaching his junior year after suffering a season-ending injury. After college, he went on to teach and coach at local Lansing High School. He spent three years there coaching football, basketball, and softball. He then moved to Maryland to join Coach Goldberg at St. Paul’s as a varsity assistant coach in 2017. Jordan is currently in his first year at John Carroll as a varsity assistant coach. This will be Jordan's third straight summer working Coach Goldberg's basketball camp.



Sean Foley
Director of Camp Operations

Head Varsity Coach, Eastern Technical High School
Sean is finishing his first year as the head varsity coach at Eastern Technical High School in Essex, Maryland. Sean's coaching career began at C. Milton Wright High School where he was the top assistant on varsity for 5 seasons including the 2016 3A State Championship team and was the JV head coach for 2 seasons. After C. Milton Wright, he went on to join Coach Goldberg's staff at St. Paul's for one season prior to moving on to take the helm of the Eastern Tech program at the start of the 2018-2019 season. Sean assists and supports the Camp Director and Camp Commissioners with all logistical aspects of the camp such as registration, website management, staffing, day-to-day activities of the camp and oversees the overall quality of Coach Goldberg's camp. This will be Sean's third straight summer working Coach Goldberg's basketball camp.



Former/Current Staff Members

  • Kevin Selby (Former McDaniel College Head Coach/Former Stevenson University & St. Mary's College Assist. Coach/Current Goucher College Asst. Coach)

  • Jeff Smith (McDaniel College '12/Asst. Coach McDaniel College & Stevenson University/Under Armour 30 -Under-30 Coach)

  • Denmore McDermott (St. Paul's School '07) (Wake Forest University '11)

  • Matt Lilly (Former St. Paul's Assist. Coach/87ers Assistant Coach)

  • Carnell Arrington (Former St. Paul's Assist. Coach/Coppin University Assist. Coach)

  • Sidney McCary (St. Paul's School '09/Shepherd University '14/ Head Varsity at St. Maria Goretti)

  • Jon Stefanides (Head Varsity Coach at C. Milton Wright HS - 2016 3A State Champs)

  • Daniel Wilson (St. Paul's School '15) (St. Thomas Aquinas '19)

  • Alexander Matsinye (St. Paul's School '15) (Delaware Valley '19)

  • Mike Goldfarb (St. Paul's School Assist. Coach)

  • Iba Camara (St. Paul's School '14/University of New Hampshire '18/ Swiss Central of Swiss Basketball League)

  • Nigel Sydnor (St. Paul's School '11) (Palm Beach Atlantic '16)

  • Winfield Willis (St. Paul's School '10) (New Jersey Institute of Technology '16)

  • Tanner Brooks (St. Paul's School '12) (St. Mary's College '16)

  • Jannah Tucker (Villanova University '17)

  • Janelle Fleet (St. Paul's School for Girls '11) (Muhlenberg College '15)

  • Zach Bare (St. Paul's School '16 All-time leading scorer)

  • Trayon Wright (St. Paul's '18/Washington College '22)

  • AJ Sawyers (St. Paul's '18/Widener University '22)

  • Mychal Stefanides (C. Milton Wright '15/Harford Community-Wesley College '20)